“Must-See” Movie Review: Memento (2001)

Memento (2001)

Director: Christopher Nolan

Starring: Guy Pearce, Carrie-Anne Moss and Joe Pantoliano

Leonardo Shelby (Pearce) is desperately searching for “John G”, a man who he believes raped and murdered his wife.   Making things more complicated is that in trying to prevent those crimes Leonard suffered brain damage which has taken away his ability to form new memories.  In an attempt to keep a certain level of order to his life he takes photos of the people he meets, keeps detailed notes and even goes as far as to tattoo vital information onto his body. 

As vital to this film as its plot is the way that the story is told.  Everything is laid out right at the beginning as we see a Polaroid fading from being developed to blank.  The scenes are played in reverse chronological order, so the movie starts with the conclusion.
Interlaced with the main narrative are a handful of black and white scenes in which Leonardo explains to an unidentified caller how he got anterograde amnesia.  The effect is absolutely enthralling.  I watched this film with my fiancée and I cannot think of another time I’ve watched a movie at home with someone else during which were as nearly captivated as she and I were watching Nolan’s masterpiece.  Most people seemed
to love Nolan’s most recent film Inception and for my money, Memento is 10 times better.

My Rating – 5 Ticket Stubs (Out of 5)

Rotten Tomatoes Score – 92% (154 Reviews)

Total 501 Movies Seen – 164

Mystery/Thriller – 25/50

@D_C_Evans (on twitter)

About DC Evans

I’m a long time film lover. For as long as I can remember, I’ve spent my free time going to multiplexs; renting tapes and building my own DVD/Blu-ray collection. I'll be blogging about my efforts as I watch my way through the history of film. For starters, I’ll be focusing on watching each movie in the book “501 Must-See Movies.” Follow me on twitter: @D_C_Evans
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Film, Movie Review, Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

