“Must-See” Movie Review: Scream (1996)

Scream (1996)

Director: Wes Craven

Starring: Neve Campbell, Courtney Cox and David Arquette

As the year anniversary of her mother’s murder approaches, high school student Sidney Prescott (Campbell) becomes the target of the mysterious ‘Ghostface’ Killer.  This string of murders brings the national media to the small town of Woodsboro, including Gale Weathers (Cox) – a tabloid TV reporter who wrote a book about the trial covering Sidney’s
mother’s death.  Sidney survives an initial attack, but soon her friends become victims.

Scream earned a spot on the “501 Must-See” movie list thanks to its reinvention of the Slasher genre for the 1990s.  The director/writer duo of Craven and Kevin Williamson introduce a collection of characters who are completely aware of real world horror films (like Halloween and Nightmare on Elm Street) and openly analyze the clichés and rules of survival.  Scream works to counter the cliché and is a true mystery mixed with the violence and terror of the great Slasher films of yesteryear.  Scream easily outshines all of the similar movies that have come out since.

My Rating – 3 Ticket Stubs (Out of 5)

Rotten Tomatoes Score –83% (59 Reviews)

Total 501 Movies Seen – 162

Science Fiction – 12/50

@D_C_Evans

About DC Evans

I’m a long time film lover. For as long as I can remember, I’ve spent my free time going to multiplexs; renting tapes and building my own DVD/Blu-ray collection. I'll be blogging about my efforts as I watch my way through the history of film. For starters, I’ll be focusing on watching each movie in the book “501 Must-See Movies.” Follow me on twitter: @D_C_Evans
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Film, Horror, Movie Review, Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

